Reception Class

Our Early Years setting follows the statutory curriculum requirements as outlined in the 2021 statutory framework for EYFS.

The EYFS framework includes 7 areas of learning and development that are equally important and inter-connected. However, 3 areas known as the prime areas are seen as particularly important for igniting curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building children’s capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

The prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

The prime areas are strengthened and applied through 4 specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

These areas of learning are underpinned by Characteristics of Effective Learning, as detailed in the framework.

EYFS Areas of Learning

The learning milestones of the various areas can be found in the Development Matters document. Teacher and practitioners use this document to plan a child’s journey through learning and to guide their assessment of each child.  This document can be accessed by clicking on the link below:

Early Years Curriculum Development Matters

Depending on whether or not they meet the ELGs in the various areas of learning, the following descriptors will be used to report outcomes for each child:

  • Emerging (1) - yet to be secure in the end of year expectations.
  • Expected (2) - solidly secure in the end of year expectations.

Data for EYFS is tracked on Arbor and learning is shared with parents via Tapestry which is an online journal.  To find out more about Tapestry and how you can use this as a parent, click on the link below:

Tapestry guide


Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now