Local Governance Committee

What we do?

All schools and academies in England have a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school.  The Headteacher is responsible for day-to-day leadership and running of the school.  Governors provide strategic direction and act as a “critical friend”; to support, challenge, ask questions, and ultimately, represent the school community. 

The Local Governance Committee (LGC) at Pyrcroft Grange are involved with such things as the safeguarding, school budget, resources, infrastructure, academic performance, and, key issues which affect the school. Ultimately the LGC hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff.   The Chair of Governors also completes the Headteacher's Performance Review in conjunction with the Trust.

Each Governor has a specific area of responsibility for which they are the Lead Governor. These areas are linked to the School Development Plan and Ofsted Framework. 

The LGC meet once every half term and visit the school throughout the academic year.

Who we are?

The LGC at Pyrcroft Grange consists of elected Co-opted and Parent Governors and the Headteacher.   The Chair and Vice Chair are elected annually at the start of the academic year.  Each governor has a term of office of four years.


Danae Salwan

Chair of Governors /  Parent Governor

Lead Governor for Governance Effectiveness / Human Resources  

Term of Office: 21/09/15 to 21/9/23


Charlie McIver

Vice-chair of Governors / Co-opted Governor

Lead Governor for Finance Probity, Estate Management and Legal Duties

Term of Office: 20/11/2008 to 19/11/22


Hannah Edwards

Co-opted Governor

Lead Governor for Safeguarding / GDPR

Term of Office: 21/11/17 to 20/11/21


Ian Gardner

Co-opted Governor

Lead Governor for Staff and Pupil Welfare

Term of Office: 1/9/15 to 21/9/23


Jo Sharp

Parent Governor

Lead Governor for Inclusion and Needs Fulfilment, including SEN

Term of Office: 21/3/18 to 20/3/22


Shane Carey

Co-opted Governor

Lead Governor for School Effectiveness

Term of Office:  18/9/18 to 17/9/22


Mark Brewster

Co-opted Governor

Leader Governor for Community and PTFA

Term of Office: 22/11/16 to 21/11/20


Sue Nardoni


Ex-officio by virtue of office as Headteacher

Term of Office 1/9/16 onwards


Anne Smith

Clerk to the Governors



2019-2020 Academic Year Meetings

The Local Governance Committee will meet at 6.30pm on the following dates in the School Hall:

  • Tuesday 17th September 2019
  • Wednesday 27th November 2019
  • Wednesday 15th January 2020
  • Wednesday 25th March 2020
  • Wednesday 20th May 2020
  • Wednesday15th July 2020

Minutes of the LGC Meetings are available on request via the Clerk of the Governors.


Bourne Education Trust (BET) Scheme of Delegation

The scheme outlines the delegated powers and responsibilities each decision level receives to act on behalf of the Bourne Education Trust. To view the scheme click here.


Code of Conduct

To view our Governors Code of Conduct click here


Contact Us

Please speak to the Headteacher, Deputy Headteacher or class teacher in the first instance.  The LGC can be contacted via the school office, addressing any comments or queries to the Chair of Governors, Mrs Danae Salwan.